Manual Linking

Concept

During reconciliation process, the accounts in target system should be able to correlate with IDM users in Welle. The correlation attributes are typically employee ID or username.

../_images/manual-linking-co-0.png

Unfortunately, due to legacy reasons, there are always accounts that cannot be correlated.

These accounts could be manually created by an administrator before IDM was implemented. In reality, there are owners (IDM users) to these accounts.

This is where we think Manual Linking feature will help.

  • It allows an administrator to view all the orphan accounts in an application. These are accounts that cannot be correlated based on pre-defined rules.
  • The administrator will be able to manually link each orphan account to an IDM user who owns the account.
  • Once the account is linked, any change to the IDM user will be synchronized to the linked account.
../_images/manual-linking-co-1.png
  • Depending on application business process, change like Off-boarding Staff can be configured such that all linked accounts are immediately disabled or deleted.

Linking Orphan Accounts

Note

Manual Linking is an administrator’s task to be performed in Administrator Mode.

../_images/manual-linking-co-2.png
  • Login to Welle Console and enter Administrator mode
  • Navigate to Manual Linking
  • Select an Application on the left panel
  • Select an Orphan Account on the right panel
  • Click on the Edit button
../_images/manual-linking-co-3.png
  • Choose an IDM user from the drop-down list in Assign Account To

This will manually link the orphan account to the selected IDM user. Once manually linked, the orphan account will no longer appear in Manual Linking.

Removing Orphan Accounts

Note

This is an administrator’s task to be performed in Administrator Mode.

../_images/manual-linking-co-4.png
  • Login to Welle Console and enter Administrator mode
  • Navigate to Manual Linking
  • Select an Application on the left panel
  • Select an Orphan Account on the right panel
  • Click on the Remove button

This will remove the orphan account on the target system. Once removed, the orphan account will no longer appear in Manual Linking.